grad pic for Black History Month.JPG

Jasmine McCrory, After School Program Specialist

My family is from Baton Rouge, Louisiana, Galveston, Texas, and Decatur, Illinois. My maternal grandmother spoke French and was the best cook I have ever met. I was born and raised in Vallejo, California. Growing up, I spent summers in Oakland in the Rockridge area and Richmond near JFK High School. 

My parents married after my birth and later divorced. My mother and father are two of the most non-confrontational people that I know. My father is retired from the Navy, currently works in the medical field, and does not curse. My mother, a fraternal twin, is still my go-to for assistance with math.  She currently works in education. Regardless of their differences, I have never heard my parents speak negatively about one another. My mother raised 6 children, 4 of which are fraternal twins, as a single parent and the sole provider. My maternal grandmother, who owned her home in Rockridge, definitely contributed to my mother’s financial stability.

In my formative years, I thought I wanted to be a veterinarian. Once I became a single mother to twin girls, I started to become more eager for financial stability.  I survived homelessness and housing insecurity, intimate partner violence, and more. Despite these challenges, I never subscribed to the idea that my life would end up just another statistic. In my journey, I built lasting professional and personal relationships. These relationships have often times provided opportunities for advancement.  

Maya Angelou once said: “I've learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”   When engaging with others I intentionally try to leave a lasting positive impression. My thoughts are. “I never know what someone else is going through and I want to meet people where they are in life in order to help.”  I am an empathetic person that is mindful of checking my chip at the door. 

My educational and career background is in administration of justice and law. I have worked at four different law enforcement agencies and two different social service agencies. However, I did not feel like I was making much of a change in my community. I was meeting people during some of the worst and most traumatic times of their lives but I felt I was a little too late to be able to help. This is why I am so grateful to have the opportunity to make a change and cultivate excellence in young people’s lives at Cragmont as the Afterschool Program Specialist. I have the opportunity to advocate for others, especially people of color. I choose to be active, consistent, and uplifting in the lives of the children I interact with. 

I take time for gratitude and humility every day. I know that because of grace, hard work, and determination I am able to live well and thrive in life.

- Jasmine McCrory, After School Program Specialist

Cragmont-logo-circle-4C_2x.png